Skip to content

Suppressing Your Power Level

September 26, 2009

idon'tknow(Source)

I’m going to cram this entry in real quick because I just realized that I forgot to make a “personal” post last week.
I probably should have timed this better because all this fatigue is making me have a huge brain fart.
Anyway, bear with me, as this is the kind of entry that I would very much like a personal response to, as I’m sure some if not all of you have considered it at some point or other since you first started watching Anime.

Also, I find this whole business with updating blogrolls to be a bother. If someone regularly comments, I feel that it’s only polite to add their link to the list. Am I right? If anything, I’m just glad that WordPress arranges them numerically/alphabetically, as it places priority on the only Anime blog worth reading.

Y’know, people are usually subtle with their brown-nosing tactics. But I’m so fucking jittery right now after downing two cans of Red Bull, so I just don’t give a shit! On with the post!

So do you have any close friends or family members who are active fans of Anime?
Do you have any close friends or family members who are active fans of Anime as much as you are?
I’ve quietly accepted the fact that openly claiming Anime as a hobby will invariably throw some menacing glances in your direction.

In that regard, I find it puzzling how there’s a whole de facto caste system for determining where you fit in as a so-called hardcore fan of Anime.

At the top are the elitists, and I mean that in every sense of the word. These are the people who keep up with current seasons, know all the otaku jargon, and provide commentary on some of the finer points in a show’s mechanics. They’re able to break a show down to its bare essentials and understand what it is that they like and don’t like about it, allowing them to be self-assured in their beliefs. But through it all, they understand that it’s something that other people in the normal, industrialized world have yet to come to terms with, so there’s a sense of shame that comes with it.

At the bottom of the caste are the more open fans, the people you see wearing Naruto headbands and t-shirts in public who rant about how Japanese animation is the end-all, be-all of the animated medium in between chomps of pocky. These people are plastered as the face of Anime fandom. Not to say that there isn’t a subculture out there that doesn’t have an exaggerated caricature that’s brought to mind, but frankly, they should have some sense to know that there’s a time and place for everything.

travis_miku(Source)

But throwing away the caste system idea, you can see that the line of demarcation is so clear-cut that it leaves no room for an “in-between” group of hardcore otakus. You’re either in group A or group B. It’s almost like a power struggle between the two groups, with the first group using a subtle approach to show that not all Anime fans are complete dorks, that they’re capable of some restraint and can even be intelligent. But then the second group comes in to undo everything by being uppity and obnoxious, which in turn only digs a deeper hole for the first group. It’s a vicious cycle.

From the tone of this entry, you can deduce that I’m of the first group. We often talk about how we have to “suppress our power level” in public because of this social stigma. As I was writing this entry, I had trouble thinking of a better word for the first group and eventually settled on “elitist.” I’m certainly not claiming that you have terrible taste in Anime if you watch Naruto, but there’s a fine line between awareness and delusion, and you know you’ve crossed it when you think you’re making a fashion statement by wearing an Itachi cloak to school.

Being opinionated is always attributed as a vice. I like opinionated people, even if their opinions run contrary to mine. I want to be able to agree or argue with others in a way that lets me know that we’ve connected in some intangible way and shared a common thought process for a transient moment in time. Anime can be a good proxy for just that.

Oh, wow. I derailed. Anyway, my point is that it’s hard to find other people who share your interests outside of the Internet. So I guess I’m lucky enough to have a few close friends I’ve known since childhood who have an active interest in Anime. They don’t keep up with current season shows, and they find things like conventions to be a bit over-the-top, but they’re certainly not condescending to others in any way. I mentioned in an earlier post about my best friend, the unlikely gay guy, who just so happens to be a casual fan of Anime. Now, the term “casual” would usually denote that he watches some of the more mainstream shows, but the guy actually has pretty refined taste. He’s the one who turned me to Mushishi and Haibane Renmei, and he even laughed at me when I told him that I teared at certain points of both shows. He tried to watch yaoi but was turned off by the sickly and emaciated character designs and the girly mannerisms. (Real gay guys don’t like yaoi. Funny how that works.) And then there’s my other best friend, a girl I’ve known since the 4th grade who lived down the street. She’s pretty sociable and outgoing, but lately, I think my 2D complex is rubbing off onto her – she recently developed a massive crush on Date Masamune from Sengoku Basara.

The thing is, they don’t bother to really dig deep into the shows they’ve watched in the way that I do, so at best I’ll have a superficial discussion about whether a show was enjoyable or not. You know those picturesque moments where you’re sitting on a park bench on a balmy day with a good friend, just musing about the latest episode of so-and-so and exchanging witty banter about how much we loved or hated a character. I want that moment, as pathetic as it may sound.

So what about you guys? Do you “suppress your power level”? Do you have any close friends who also like Anime as much as you do?

With that over and done with, I will now go jog 5 miles without rest. I started this entry as a way to just talk about my Anime-watching friends, but ended up sloppily rambling about otakus in general.
Don’t consume energy drinks while blogging, kids.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2009 8:01 am

    This is shameless hypothesizing, but I believe that the line between elitists and totally open fans is largely a matter of age. The difference between teenager X who paints her nails black and reads vampire novels and teenager Y who wears a Naruto headband and subsists on Pocky is simply what they’ve chosen as “their” super-special defining thing. And then there are the people who never grow past teenage behavior patterns.

    I’m an elitist, and you’re absolutely right: Unless I trust you down to the bones (or at least we’ve had a drink together), I won’t admit more than “I watch some anime here and there.” But I consider myself very lucky, in that there are a number of people who share some interest in anime, and a special handful who can handle my worst nerd-gushing, theory-spewing, mile-a-minute-talking moments.

    Of course, they’re not here with me now. But in the blogosphere, I have people like you, who make me feel wanted, and who are wonderfully interesting people besides. So, cheers.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 1:23 am

      Indeed.

      Who says you can’t make a meaningful connection on the Internet?

  2. September 26, 2009 8:49 am

    This happened recently:

    Meet Classmate X. She, as far as I knew, was a closet otaku just like me. Towards the fujoshi end of the continuum definitely, since she would lean towards the LJ side of things (and LJ = fanfiction as far as I’m concerned), and one day I saw her reading a light novel in class. An untranslated light novel. With pretty guys on the cover.

    Fast-forward about three semesters: We don’t talk much, if any at all–due to our otaku states, I’d reckon. While the rest of my classmates would talk about more mundane things, we were always rushing back home to… talk with the friends that really mattered. Or at least that was what I did. Can only wonder if it was the same with her.

    At the end of the three semesters, I decide to defer, and won’t see her anymore as a result. I decide to start an anime club, and also decide to invite her to be in the committee, since I need a female’s perspective on things and don’t do shoujo quite well.

    The text I sent her was couched in language I figured she would be familiar with (“relevant to your interests”), and then she added me on IM, and we talked. And talked. And talked. And knew more about each other in four bloody hours than we ever did in those three semesters.

    The afterglow of the conversation, where things began to die down due to so much exuberant energy being consumed in said four hours, left me with this: “You were the first guy that said hi to me. Not like that matters now, but…”

    I mean, during those four hours I realised we shared a huge lexicon, even if we weren’t exactly on the same sides of aforementioned continuum. She’s into yaoi (confirming my fujoshi suspicions), loves to write fanfiction, and always wanted to try writing something of her own, but found it hard. Yet all of this resonated with me as I shared what I knew with her.

    I wonder if we’d had this conversation at the beginning of university when I first said hi–how different could things have been between us? There’s your double-edged sword for you. Revealing too much isn’t good, and that’s something we can all agree with, I’m sure–but so is concealing too much. I learned that much in four hours.

    Oh well. Should make for an interesting anime club should my proposal come to fruition; otherwise I’ll always have that exhilarating getting-to-know-you roller-coaster conversation connection to look back on fondly. The internet is a wonder that never ceases to amaze me, and this is why.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 1:43 am

      Wow, thanks for sharing. I’d like to believe that even if we’re not of the same persuasion when it comes to the kind of Anime we consume, we can still relate on some base level. There’s always that feeling of not being able to connect that gets bogged down by uncertainty or even laziness (in my case).

      I hope you kept in touch with her, nonetheless.

      • September 27, 2009 2:52 am

        No problem at all. It fit what you said, at any rate, and I’m still faintly amazed from how much and how fast we talked, and how our anime knowledge overlapped so well. And when she started using bits of slang I wasn’t familiar with (pwp? wats dat?!!?) I just used UrbanDictionary to my advantage. Such was the fury of the conversation.

        Definitely. Got her cell, got her IM… her being in the committee should liven things up, considering that she’s my equal, if not superior for being that well-versed in Japanese.

  3. September 26, 2009 9:05 am

    Interesting post. I don’t know anyone IRL that’s into anime, and the people that I do know IRL are quite bored by the whole notion of anime and anime fandom so I don’t really have to hide (or show) anything. Once in a while it’ll come up and drift away, they just don’t care. Life is simple in that sense..

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 1:45 am

      Ah, you have it easy, in a sense.
      It seems like more of us are experiencing a more disparaging response rather than a noncommittal one.

  4. September 26, 2009 10:18 am

    I lean more towards the side of group A – the closet fans / elitists. The kind that calls Naruto a shitty anime. Power level suppression is there, but if someone asks, I tell them quite frankly that I’m into animu/mango/erogay. There are so many relationships that could’ve been more meaningful had either of us known that we shared a common interest, but I’ll save that story for later.
    It’s probably safe to say that over here, anime is pretty much accepted as a mainstream cultural phenomenon. You could be in group B (open-about-it) and no one would bat an eyelash, really. There are a ton of cosplay/animu cons now (all of which suck, by the way) with kids walking in Bleach/Haruhi/Vampire Knight/<insert popular anime here> costumes, and even those old conservative grannies wouldn’t care. However, anime is still perceived as a means of entertainment without any (or much) intellectual value – sort of like Saturday morning cartoons (which is what some technically are lol). That’s a preconception I’m sure we all want to change, but as you say, those in group B ruin the plans.
    That being said, I have quite a number of anime-viewing friends, casual and otherwise, both in group A and in B and I’ve noticed a couple trends that separate the two groups. A-types tend to be at least of young adult age (18-20’s at the youngest) or older, while B-types are in the teenage area or so. It could be said that what causes this change is the exposure to society; imagine a 20, 30-something year old office worker coming in to work with a Naruto headband screaming DATTEBAYO. I’m sorry. Anyway, the other notable notable is that A-types tend to have been in the interwebs for a significantly longer period of time, have lurked in more IRC channels, and have read many more animu blogs than B-types. These environments tend to foster the A-side of things by exposing one to the better offerings of animu, encouraging intellectual discussion, and so on, which in turn, enlighten one that being show-offy about anime is (exceptions aside) a really stupid thing. It could be the age that influences which side you’re on, but there are so many other factors, like your personality, the way you were brought up, etc. I’m rambling on now, so I’ll just chut up.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 1:55 am

      I absolutely agree with you on the whole group-B teenage area idea. The sad thing is, Anime seems to go hand-in-hand with being a social misift. And most teenage social misfits just try too hard to be anti-establishment and going against the grain that they think of it as a badge of honor.

      But, truth be told, I had my own group-B phase around middle school when I thought reciting quotes from popular Anime was cool.
      But it thankfully dissipated by high school when I discovered the Internet.

      • September 27, 2009 2:08 am

        The best reason I could come up about why anime is still considered a niche hobby – something that deviates from the norm – is that people still think of it as a “kiddy” thing despite the many examples which elevate the show’s status to something that deserves more respoect.
        And indeed, the teenagers’ urge to go against the grain, row row fight the powa, etc. can manifest in showing off their weaboo-ness. I’m sure we’ve all gone through that stage some time or another, so we can’t blame ourselves so much. And sometimes I wonder if the internet, despite accelerating me through maturity, actually has an overall net positive effect or not.
        Last thing – I just realized that your avatar was Yotsuba with a goatee, orz

    • September 27, 2009 2:02 am

      Group B – Stand-alone
      Group A – Complex?

  5. September 26, 2009 10:32 am

    I’m pretty much on the same page. I have to let people “slip up” IRL before I’ll expose my power level. It probably explains why I’ve only ever had a couple of worthwhile conversations about anime IRL, and certainly nothing to the same extent that we kinda take for granted on the internet.

    I have a couple of friends who are into anime on a casual level. A friend of mine watches anime occasionally, and enjoys things like Mushishi and Bartender. He adores the Nodame Cantabile drama, but can’t bring himself to watch the anime. And, coincidentally, he’s gay. My brother also dabbled in anime for a while, and he’s one of these people (like me) who will latch on to anything off-mainstream. But, while I settled with anime (I’m naturally loyal like that), he moved on to minimalist Japanese film and now his current poison is 50s New Wave French Cinema. He lapped up series like Gankutsuou and Kemonozume, but given these types of anime are rarities within the medium, it probably doesn’t surprise that anime wasn’t going to keep his attention for long. Me, on the other hand, for every artsy, pretentious anime I watch, I’ll happily sit through another Valkyria Chronicles. Hell, I almost need it. It’s just habit now.

    I have another friend who’s about the only person I hang around with these days that I can have genuinely deep conversations with (without getting too philosophical). But, he’s not into anime, so we talk about things like football and films and politics and science (ie, work). That’s cool, these are pretty much the other things I’m interested in.

    • September 27, 2009 2:04 am

      Why would you not want to get too philosophical? Is this a matter of not wanting to be seen talking in-depth about, say, Japanese cartoons If it’s one of those American hang-ups about that, then, well… you should ask yourself why you wouldn’t want to.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 2:05 am

      It’s good to know that you’re exercising balance. I can’t imagine any stalwart otaku just plowing through one thought-provoking series after another.
      And your brother sounds like a swell guy if he’s interested in film movements like the nouvelle vague.

  6. September 26, 2009 11:07 am

    Elitist but a proud fan here. I probably owe it to the Filipinos’ ‘general acceptance of anime as a mainstream culture’ (as Zeroblade says), because there was not even one moment of my life where I remember being ashamed of this hobby, despite having been branded as ‘a girl into 2D than 3D’ back in high school, or being surrounded by relatives who have the stupid idea that ‘animes are for kids’

    Though I’d have to admit, this odd hobby of ‘being too into animes’ got me isolated from the rest of my classmates back in high school, which is why I found myself more comfortable talking to guys who share the same interests as I do, talking about Dragonball Z, YuYu Hakusho and all those shounen stuff.

    But here I am, 10 years after, seeing just how much animu/mango has done to my life. It was my primary motivation to study Nihongo, to blog (and boy the wonders that blogging has done to me, it’s life changing, and this post should serve as my testimony on that), the mirror of my life — and for that I will forever be proud of being a fan. It’s been part of my life ever since I could remember! Most, if not all, the people I know — family, friends, colleagues and other acquaintances — are aware of my fanaticism, finds it unbelievable (in both positive and negative ways) at times, but accept me for it.

    This is probably why I don’t have issues with ‘mixing up’ my online anime lover self and my real-life self, my real-life friends in facebook see what I’m to with my ‘2d world tweets’, for example. I’m not a closet otaku, I’m darn proud of it, but I keep the power level in moderation — I’m not ashamed of it, but I’m not a shameless fan either lol.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 2:17 am

      No exaggeration when I say this: that’s probably the bravest comment I’ve ever read. Ever.

  7. September 26, 2009 11:12 am

    Oh and about gay guys not being into yaoi? Well I have a gay friend IRL who’s sooo into it. He’s into both bishies/boys love and bara/buff love, so to speak. Then again he might be one of the rare exceptions to the ‘rule’…

  8. Ryan A permalink
    September 26, 2009 12:39 pm

    It’s just a medium… if we take the specific medium out of the equation, it’ll be a more enlightening way to examine this sort of situation; fanatics, they are everywhere. If an experiencer happens to have more inter-textual knowledge about the creation of a work, do they gain more from the experience than someone who doesn’t? I would suggest this is just as dangerous as having preconceptions in the early stages of experiencing a work (ruined via expectation or idea).

    Start with a clean canvas, go from there.

    On this: If someone regularly comments, I feel that it’s only polite to add their link to the list. Am I right?

    Yes and no, I think blogrolls aren’t about “commenters” but content in which you actively read/enjoy/find inspiration/recommend/etc.

    As for “anime and me” I’m lucky to come from a realm where individuals care less about “the category” and more about “what’s in this experience (regardless of medium)” … but I wouldn’t call this “open-minded” either. ^^

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 2:25 am

      I agree with you, but it’s kind of easier said than done.
      But I won’t speak for everyone else.

      And I’ve considered actually polishing up my blogroll. I’ve been telling myself that I’ll get around to actually reading through all of them on a regular basis, but with little effect. Hopefully, that’ll change in the near future…

  9. September 26, 2009 12:43 pm

    I am a very nice fan. I can put up a conversation with a garden-variety shounen fan for hours without being condescending, since I was one of them for many years. However, the mean elitist streak in me comes out whenever I go to a con. I don’t want to talk about it.

    The nice thing in our country is that, as Jen says, anime is an acceptable hobby, and we are given more slack in our displays of weeabooness. I don’t particularly suppress my power level (my officemates know of my mechasexuality and Gundam Fu), but I stay within the boundaries of common sense in displaying my fandom. I’m proud, but not arrogant.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 2:37 am

      I think a lot of us have what you call a “mean elitist streak,” even if we don’t openly show it. The few who say they don’t probably still make their snapshot judgments and store them away in the corners of their mind. Or maybe I’m just naturally skeptical of people’s motives…

      Anyway, thanks for reading. I’ve never really considered mecha as something to be embarrassed about.

  10. September 26, 2009 1:08 pm

    Right there with you. In fact, I named my site after it. And most of my RL fans who enjoy anime don’t read it because just the idea of reading a blog about it is a little farther than they’d be willing to go, let along writing one. So, yes, I too wouldn’t mind having that idyllic park bench moment, but when I want to have that conversation I end up firing up AIM and typing to other bloggers instead.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 2:46 am

      I guess it’s a good thing to have a blog that serves as a constant reminder to keep your power level in check. My Anime-watching friends are clueless about my blog as well.

      And I had this image from some obscure manga where they forced a group of fujoshis to watch real gay porno (a la Alex from A Clockwork Orange). I have to find out what it’s from now…

  11. September 26, 2009 1:11 pm

    orz that shoulda been “RL friends.”

    As for gay guys and yaoi, that’s not surprising either. I can’t think of any gay friends who’d be into it — but back to the original point of the post, I don’t see myself asking them about it either. It’s not meant for them anyway, so I guess it’s all good 😀

  12. September 26, 2009 3:02 pm

    In before digiboy.

    I’m Filipino, 32. My generation is represented by a super robot: Choudenji Machine Voltes V. Even my wife agrees, though she’s more into bishounen. I have less problems sharing my hobby IRL, but power levels are always best kept in check until timely and most constructive.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 2:59 am

      That’s good to hear, and I salute you for finding someone who shares your passion.

      • September 27, 2009 3:38 am

        Thanks man. And I am lucky more than anything I can take credit for! You’ve written quite the post and a lot of my friends here real and online have found their way to you and I think this is great.

        When I was starting out last year in blogging, a similar (but a lot less thoughtful!) post got me attention: Who do you watch anime with?

        Anyway great job and keep it up! I think I can speak for a lot of guys here in your comments section that we’re looking forward to more of your stuff ^_^/

      • saturnity permalink*
        September 30, 2009 1:16 am

        Absolutely. It’s just hard maintaining a regular schedule for blogging in between schoolwork and other things.

        And thanks all the same.

  13. September 27, 2009 12:44 am

    I think I’m more like your friend who is a casual fan with a more specific (perhaps refined?) taste. Although I do somewhat keep up with news and such, I don’t think I’m an elitist… I’m definitely not the “bottom of the caste.” I keep my anime life very separate from my real life; my friends don’t like anime and neither does popular society.

    Anyway, what a biting post. It’s refreshing though. ^ ^
    “Also, I find this whole business with updating blogrolls to be a bother. If someone regularly comments, I feel that it’s only polite to add their link to the list. Am I right? If anything, I’m just glad that WordPress arranges them numerically/alphabetically, as it places priority on the only Anime blog worth reading.”
    Hehe, I guess I’m on there only because I commented on a few posts.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 27, 2009 2:57 am

      It’s kind of stifling, though. As much as I know that we should separate our Anime lives and our real lives, the only time I ever get to think about Anime is when I’m on the computer. It’d be nice to have a change of pace.

      And I like to read up on a little bit of everything now and again. Hell, I sometimes pick a random magazine off the rack at the grocery store to tide me over for the day. I figure I might as well add another link to check in on now and again.

  14. September 27, 2009 9:24 am

    “I think my 2D complex is rubbing off onto her – she recently developed a massive crush on Date Masamune from Sengoku Basara.”

    To be fair to your friend, Date is fucking hot. I’d turn gay for him in a heartbeat if I were a cartoon character.

    • saturnity permalink*
      September 30, 2009 1:20 am

      I’m actually more partial to Yukimura.
      Apparently being gay for Date is manly while being gay for Yukimura is …just gay.

  15. Y10NRDY permalink
    October 1, 2009 9:06 pm

    dude, power level suppression is only necessary if you’re a freaking ‘boo – and they never do – so what is the point anyway? i’m a RL oldfag (33y0) and i learned long ago to let my freak fag fly. i don’t see the point in giving up the auspices of my individualism and hobby life. i find the practice to be inherently deceptive.

    for example, throughout my 20s i was in an indie band and circulated in the miami beach hipster circuit enjoying a social status that was based not on who i was as a person or what i was into, but rather how i looked and what guest lists i could get on.

    not surprisingly, years later i keep in touch with only a handful of those people and now choose to surround myself with like-minded otaku and fanboys. probably a no-less shallow bunch but at least my friendships now revolve around aspects of myself that lie beyond my taste in music and clothes. i find a casual conversation about the existentialist dilemma in neon genesis evangelion to be a far more thought-provoking situation than a coked up rant soundtracked by VHS or Beta. i can’t tell you how many raised eyebrows i used to get from my “cool” friends when they ended up at my house and noticed my anime and figure collection.

    at least the folks i hang out with these days accept me for the geek i am. there’s far less surprises this way.

  16. October 24, 2009 11:46 am

    None of my friends or family like anime, or even know what anime is. They referred them as ‘cartoons’. However, I don’t suppress my “power level”. It’s either you get me or you don’t. I am not sure to which group do I belong to though.

  17. August 29, 2010 10:57 am

    This gundam serie is the very best. I can’t forget my first time watching Gundam Wing then know about Japanese mobile gundam. Hope to have a lot more good gundam serie within the future

  18. July 13, 2011 12:41 pm

    I suppress my powerlevel, but if anyone asks, I won’t deny it. Sometimes my powerlevel overflows and leaks out, but if I ever do express it visually, such as a sticker on a car, or a t-shirt, I usually make it so only other fellow otaku will get it. Not the general public. But there’s no shame in it. (Maybe if your room is covered in figmas, posters and dakimakura, har har) But even then, you should just stay true to yourself. And try to not give what others think too much thought or power. Moderation is key, however. Just with anything in life. As far as socially and in public goes, at least. My advice would be to try to keep your otaku life and your social life separate, because for the time being, it’s still not socially acceptable. It would be nice if being an otaku were more like being a “Star Wars” or “Star Trek” fan. A “trekkie.” But you could argue even that isn’t “acceptable.” I think if you’re a hardcore fanatic of any hobby or interest, you’re always going to have a difficult time finding acceptance, it’s just human nature. So again, I think the best thing to do is just suppress your powerlevel in public, and then unleash it around other fellow otaku.

  19. 37077 permalink
    July 18, 2012 1:36 am

    Thanks for the posts guys, it was a fun read.

    I’m pretty much %90 Elitist type. I tried revealing my power level for about a week and it did more harm than help.

    I’ve just graduated high school and I really regret not meeting more people who share my interests… And I say that because I didn’t really try hard enough to find them until senior year.

    As soon as I tried harder in senior year, I developed some really strong relationships. I even found that some of my current friends were into anime, or at least very open to it but not pursuing more. Here’s some advice that I wish I could go back in time and give myself.

    1. If you meet someone who likes anime, don’t let the conversation stop after a few sentences. If they seem to know some stuff only hardcore anime fans would know… then there’s probably a lot more that they know. I probably wouldn’t have gotten to know their otaku if I hadn’t brought up anime on multiple occasions, Usually if I poked around enough I could flip the switch and get a very nice lengthy discussion.

    2. Don’t let people think that they’ve “flipped a switch” in you about anime or otaku stuff. It will usually just make the conversation die out or make them avoid you. If they don’t look like they want to know more, they probably don’t want to know more.

  20. February 10, 2013 9:29 am

    you can call me either patty or kiara. i’m 16 years old. the fourth sister of the family. i’m a friendly person, i love to help, can be funny and sometimes i’m weirdo too. I’m interested in manga, anime, in japanese and peruvian culture. Drawing, painting, singing, playing sports, reading, studying are my hobbies. i’m a mellow person, so I don’t get angry easily. I enjoy my time with my family and friends!! I love to hang out with them! or to have a party with my relatives! oh yep.. I’m learning english.. so if I don’t get something, please don’t get mad at me. Everyone minna-san! ish really nice to be part of the family! I hope we can enjoy our time together!! Love u!!! yoroshiku onegai shimasu.

Trackbacks

  1. A Personal Note #5: Culture Shock and the Anime Fan « 2-D Teleidoscope
  2. Hiding (Your Power Levels) in Plain Sight: Alternatives in Expressing Love for Your Hobby | We Remember Love

Leave a Reply

