Skip to content

While I’m Gone

January 9, 2010

(Source)

Another hiatus.

This has been bothering me for a while now so I won’t mince words: I’m getting tired of Anime. I haven’t been keeping up shows or other anime blogs. I blithely overlook and fail to respond to comments, sometimes even after reading them. There are a bunch of half-completed posts on my dashboard and even more ideas for future posts, but motivation to finish them is just dead at this point.

The good news is that I’m sure it’s a temporary slump, either from the holiday season or the upcoming Spring semester. I can’t imagine leaving Anime altogether, especially after experiences like Diary of an Anime Lived – which, as maudlin as this may sound, was a genuinely life-changing moment for me.

And I’d feel like a real jerk if I just packed up shop and abandoned you guys. I know we only know one another through the Internet, and it’s futile to think that I’ll ever meet you guys in real life, but you Anime bloggers are some swell people, and I would love to take each and every one of you out for a drink. Figuratively speaking, of course.

If you’re not a regular reader of my blog, I highly encourage you to check out the Anime bloggers on my blogroll, if you haven’t done so already. I have nothing but respect for these people, especially 2DT, who’s been with me from the beginning, even though I’m not quite sure why. I like to think of myself as his protégé while blogging.

Okay, too much brown-nosing for one post. I want to end this by saying that I’ll still be updating my personal blog since, at this point in my life, I find it easier to just talk about what’s on my mind, regardless of the subject. And since I only really used Twitter to keep up with other Anime bloggers, I’ll be taking a break from that as well.

Have a good one, folks.
Let’s hope you guys are still here when I return.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 8:47 am

    Enjoy your break!

  2. January 9, 2010 10:16 am

    It’s a pretty depressing time of year, even without all the heavy things I’ve seen you write about on your personal blog. By all means, take a holiday! But do come back; I don’t know what I’d do without my number one fan. Wither and die, perhaps.

    Enjoy your break, protégé. I’ll leave the light on for you.

  3. Kairu permalink
    January 9, 2010 10:42 am

    >I’m getting tired of Anime
    Watch K-ON!, you’ll probably won’t be tired of anime anymore.

  4. January 10, 2010 12:01 am

    I understand the feeling. Sometimes we need a break to feel refreshed. Then we come back to things and can take them on with the same attitude we had when we started. Kind of like a second honeymoon? Anyway, school is the most important thing 🙂

  5. January 11, 2010 12:31 pm

    Enjoy your hopefully temporary time away from anime/ anime blogging. And I hope you do return afterward. I really enjoyed some of your posts.

  6. January 11, 2010 5:23 pm

    You and me both. Later.

  7. January 13, 2010 3:14 pm

    These things happen — and often. My blog has been going for about two years, and I think that’s one of the longest nonstop runs I’ve ever had at being hardcore.

    I really enjoy this blog, your voice is welcome in anime blogging, so I hope this break doesn’t last too long but enjoy it.

  8. January 13, 2010 6:51 pm

    Ah, the dreaded hiatus. I took one last summer, though that was more due to lack of time rather than burnout.

    Anyway, just enjoy yourself and watch what you want. I hope you come back, and I can guarantee that we’ll be here 😀

  9. January 23, 2010 9:07 am

    Take care. And be more literal about your offers of drinks! 😛

  10. February 19, 2010 10:28 pm

    Hooray, I see on your other blog you’ve been reading Emma!

    I’m sorry you’ve been feeling out of sorts. But you’re missed, for what it’s worth. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

